This last weekend I went to a music festival. I was completely in awe at the way people are dressing these days. Maybe I'm in shock because I live in a Podunk town in Idaho, or maybe it is because I can't believe parents would let their kids dress the way they do. As a mother of two boys I can't say I have had any problems deciding whether if something for them is modest or not, it is easy. However, I have come to have a debate in my head about certain clothes my daughter can wear. As a child and teen I was not allowed to wear a bikini and other immodest clothes. I hated it then, but appreciate it now.

As a soon to be mother of a daughter I want to set the right example for my daughter at an early age. What does this mean? Dressing modestly as an example, and dressing her modestly starting at birth. Even though I want to dress her modestly let's face it, she will probably want to wear what's in style. So how do we really get through to our daughters in this revolving closet of immodesty of a world we live in?

These are just a few of the styles I saw.

Why is showing off your belly okay? Why are shorts so short that you can see your butt okay? Wearing a bikini top around a music fest where there are people getting so drunk that they can't stand up straight, to me, is not okay. I know, no one wants a tan line, but can someone please explain to me why people do this and why this style is okay? Again, how do I teach my daughter that this is not appropriate and this style is not okay?!




Leave a Reply.