This morning the kids and I learned the story of Nephi and his families journey to the promised land. This is one of my favorite Book of Mormon stories. It has such a great message about following the Lord's command and the blessings of doing so.

Nephi has always been one of my Book of Mormon heroes because he has such courage and faith. When he is told to do something he doesn't question it. He asks Heavenly Father for help and knows that He will provide a way. He never used an excuse that he didn't have the tools to build the ship, but through prayer and faith he was able to make the tools needed. He was mocked by his brothers, he didn't use that as an excuse. He kept going knowing The Lord would provide a way. The Lord, through Nephi and his faithfulness, then shocked his brothers. Nephi also had the faith to let the Liahona guide them.

We also watched the movie "Mountain of The Lord." This is yet another example of faith, courage, and following the Lord's command. It shows of some of the trials those who were building the Salt Lake City temple went through.

Both of these stories are great reminders to me that I need to be doing the simple yet important things which I have been commanded to do each day.

- Read my scriptures (individual, couple, and family)

- Say my prayers (individual, couple, and family)

- Being an example of Christ and doing things that are pleasing to Him

- Attending church meetings every Sunday

- Going to the temple as often as I can

- Listening to the prophets

- Keeping the sabbath day holy

- Not doing things to distract from the focus of The Lord

- Focusing on things of The Lord like scripture study, attending church, being together as a family, doing a simple thing of service, and anything else that may help you feel the Spirit of The Lord

- Pay tithing (giving 1/10 to The Lord)

And so on.

I am far from perfect and I know what I need to work on. I also know that working on each of these and other things will help me become closer to the Savior.

Each time I get distracted and need a reminder I can sing the song "Nephi's Courage."

2. The Lord commanded Nephi to go and build a boat.

Nephi's older brothers believed it would not float.

Laughing and mocking, they said he should not try.

Nephi was courageous. This was his reply:


"I will go; I will do the thing the Lord commands.

I know the Lord provides a way; he wants me to obey.


3. The Lord gives us commandments and asks us to obey.

  • Sometimes I am tempted to choose another way.
  • When I'm discouraged, and think I cannot try,
  • I will be courageous, and I will reply:
  • Chorus
  • "I will go; I will do the thing the Lord commands.
  • I know the Lord provides a way; he wants me to obey.

I have always loved this song and the story. If you have never read it I encourage you to read it. It is in 1 Nephi chapters 17 and 18 in the Book of Mormon.

Better yet I challenge you to read all of 1 Nephi. It has great examples of courage and faith including those of my Book of Mormon hero, Nephi.




Leave a Reply.